12 April 2016

CODATU partner of STA Award 2017 – Nominate your city !

Your City for the 2017 Sustainable Transport Award !

The Institute for Transportation and Development Policy, together with an international committee of development and transport experts, invites you to nominate your city for the 12th annual Sustainable Transport Award. Nominations will open on March 30, and will be accepted online at staward.org until April 30, 2016.

The award is given each year to a city that has implemented innovative transport strategies in the preceding year. These strategies should improve mobility for all residents, reduce transportation greenhouse and air pollution emissions, and enhance safety and access for bicyclists and pedestrians.

The winning city will also be the site of Mobilize 2017, ITDP’s new annual Sustainable Transport Summit, supported by the Volvo Research and Education Foundations. This event will give international transportation researchers and professionals and opportunity to experience this emerging city as a learning lab for best practice in sustainable transport.

Since 2005, the Sustainable Transport Award has recognized profound leadership and vision in sustainable transportation and urban livability. The award is presented to a city each January for achievements in the preceding year. Nominations are accepted from any interested parties, including government, civil society organizations, and academic institutions. Nominations must include verifiable project data and contact information for the city.

Previous winners implemented many projects that have improved livability, mobility, and quality of life for its citizens. The 2016 winner, the city Yichang, China, is well on its way to becoming a leader in the region on sustainable transport and development. In 2015, Yichang opened a new BRT system, stretching 20 kilometers along one of the city’s busiest roads, serving over 250,000 riders per day. The city also implemented parking reform along the corridor, added 30 kilometers of new protected bike lanes, launched a new bike share system, redesigned 29 intersections with pedestrian safety improvements and widens and improved 40 kilometers of sidewalks.

The 2017 winner and honorable mentions will be announced in June, and honored at an evening reception during the Transport Research Board’s Annual Conference in January 2017 in Washington, DC.

A Committee that includes the most respected experts and organizations working internationally on sustainable transportation select the finalists and winner. The Committee includes:

Past winners of the Sustainable Transport Award: Yichang, China (2016), São Paulo, Belo Horizonte, and Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (2015); Buenos Aires, Argentina (2014), Mexico City, México (2013), Medellín, Colombia & San Francisco, United States (2012); Guangzhou, China (2011); Ahmedabad, India (2010); New York City, USA (2009); London, UK (2008); Paris, France (2008); Guayaquil, Ecuador (2007); Seoul, South Korea (2006), and Bogotá, Colombia (2005).

For more information, visit : STAWARD.ORG

Have a look at their promotional video

Or contact: Jemilah Magnusson, Communications Manager
Institute for Transportation and Development Policy